Love and Relationships

Call me Mrs – I got Married!!!

It’s official guys! I’m a married woman! Towards the end of 2016 I finally said “I do” to my best friend and partner in crime.

Before I met my husband, I was in a very grim place. My optimism gave those around me the illusion of happiness and peace. I was troubled and sad and I never thought I would ever get over the death of my parents. But then I met a man whom I quickly realized was a gift sent from heaven – my life has changed ever since.

img1482107713168.jpg

In my culture, like in many others, marriage is a very big deal. Young single women are constantly pressured by society to find a man and to become a wife and mother. For me, marriage was never something I looked for. I just wanted my heart to heal and to live a truly happy life. I needed something to set me free from my childhood scars and to help me love again. I’m so happy that I found all of that with a cherry on top: my amazing husband.

Although we got married traditionally a few weeks before, there was something so special about saying my vows in front of the people who love and care for us. The intimate ceremony took no longer than half an hour, but it felt like an eternity as I struggled to look my husband in the eyes through my tears as he read the most heartwarming vows I could have never imagined.

_DSC5126.JPG

I guess I cried for three reasons: I was overwhelming touched by the vows that my husband  had taken the time to write for me; I was at peace because I could finally stand in front of the world and hold my husband’s hand after so many struggles; and finally I felt a huge weight lift off my shoulders. It felt like my parents were looking down on me, smiling and telling me that I could stop feeling so bad. It felt like they wanted me to enjoy life and my new husband, and deep down I knew that they would have been so happy for me. That moment marked the beginning of a new life.

So yes, it’s official! I’m a married woman and I couldn’t be happier. I am blessed with a man who has thought me to love again. The pieces of a once broken heart no longer mean anything to me. I have a new one – one that loves myself and that loves those who have passed on without forsaking those who are still here.

It’s legit.

img1482107713168.jpg

Leave a Reply

