Fitness, Health & Nutrition, Travel

My Gym & Workout Nightmare

Fitness and healthy eating is a lifestyle I, like many other ordinary young woman, aspire to. Personally, I want to improve my fitness and healthy diet for two reasons: to maintain a body I feel comfortable in and most importantly to keep my body as healthy as I humanly can. Unfortunately, this has been a very difficult lifestyle for me to keep up with especially as I get older. Working out has literally become a nightmare…

In just a few days February will start and I hate to have to make a embarrassing confession: I haven’t been to the gym all month. In fact, I haven’t been to the gym or exercised at home for almost six months now and I feel horrible about it. I have been struggling with this for months and even when I do go to the gym or press play to watch my workout videos at home, I quickly give up and stop before the first song playing on my cellphone comes to an end. It hurts me because I wasn’t always like this and I feel bad that I am not taking care of myself the way I used to.

Growing up, I was a sporty kid. In primary school I was in the school’s athletic team (and won a few local titles) and I was an A-team netball player. In high school I ran track and played basketball (oh, and there was also a stint in aerobatics and dance). Even straight after high school I remained active and exercised on a regular basis. With the years and busier schedule, working out has become a burden I carry with a frown, not because I don’t want to workout, but because I am literally struggling with the commitment.

A little over a year ago, I got myself a gym membership in the attempt to revive the active lifestyle I used to have. In the beginning I was committed, but that commitment soon because procrastination and in turn the procrastination become sheer laziness. I have tried time and time again to make a deal with myself. I’ve tried setting small goals to work my way up and I have tried to find a fitness buddy, but nothing has worked. I can’t count the number of articles and blog posts I have read, trying to get motivated and strengthened, but nothing seems to work for me. I even downloaded a habit-kicking app and a personal trainer app, but those failed miserably. I have to honestly say that this is becoming a NIGHTMARE. My doctor has told me several times to get back to working out and it’s embarrassing to confess to him every time I see him that I haven’t taken his advice. I mean, it’s not like I don’t want to do it; I am just overworked and I feel like I am drowning.

Writing about things has helped me in the past so I figured that if I write about this nightmare, maybe, just maybe, it will help me get out of it. So as February is about to begin, I really hope that sharing my difficulties with you and hearing from you about your struggles will help me overcome this hurdle…

Leave a Reply

